The standard cookie policy for this website is to allow all cookies. This helps to ensure you have the optimal experience. If you would like to continue with our optimal website experience, you don't need to make any changes. If you would like to learn more about what cookies are and how we use them, visit our cookie policy page.


Curriculum Statement

At Mead Road Infant School we follow the revised version of National Curriculum that was introduced in September 2014. The National Curriculum provides the school with the outline of knowledge, skills and understanding that we are required to cover in school, but we are proud to offer a much broader curriculum than that, making the most of many and varied opportunities to broaden and enrich the curriculum for our children.

The National Curriculum comprises core and foundation subjects. The three major core subjects are English, mathematics and science and these take up a larger share of curriculum teaching time. The foundation subjects are: art and design, computing (previously Information and Communications Technology, or ICT), design and technology, geography, history, music, physical education and religious education. The main curriculum is extended with other aspects of learning, including personal, social and health education. There is also significant emphasis put on social, moral, spiritual and cultural development of individuals.

As we are a small school most children are given the opportunity to participate in a variety of sports including dance, jujitsu, gymnastics and multi-skills.

Our curriculum will be taught with the consideration of the needs of all learners. It will be exciting and will inspire children to nurture a passion for learning.

Early Years Foundation Stage - Reception

The Foundation Stage Framework and Development Matters are the basis of our Reception curriculum. The children learn through child initiated activities and have access to a free flow environment, enabling them to access resources and activities both in and out of the classroom. The curriculum in Reception is defined into 7 areas of learning. These include the prime areas of learning:

 Personal, Social and Emotional Development

 Communication and Language

 Physical Development

As well as the specific areas of learning:

 Literacy

 Mathematics

 Understanding the World

 Expressive Arts and Design

In Reception, we give children plenty of opportunities to read, write and apply their mathematical understanding. As a result, our children start Year 1 as confident and competent learners.

Dedicated Learning Days

During the year we hold dedicated learning days. These include; music, art, poetry, books, mathematics and science. We believe that these days enrich the curriculum and widen learners’ experiences.

Parents and prospective parents are welcome to contact the Head of School to discuss any aspect of the school’s curriculum.

Owls Long Term Plan

Owls Knowledge Organiser

Toucans Long Term Plan

Toucans Knowledge Organiser